who are you?

Who are you? WHO are you? Who are YOU? Who ARE you?

You don’t know. You do not have a simple answer to that question, a snappy tagline that sums up you as a human being, encompassing your past, present and future. Your relationship and role to everyone you know. Your hopes and dreams, nightmares and fears. Your proudest moments and your dirtiest secrets.

You are a permanent work-in-progress. You’ll never be ‘completed’. It’s utterly terrifying, but think of it as being an incredibly liberating gift that we have been given. The ability to change and transform ourselves into who we want to be.

You can never stand in the same river twice – because when you come back, it’s not the same river, and you’re not the same man.

And it is so very true.

So, next time you see me, just double-check, is it really me? Because I’m not who I was earlier this week.

Neither, when it comes down to it, are you.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Alice Kelley on April 22nd 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Labels have always bugged me since I can remember. Someone is always categorizing someone else. In grade school you were either the nerd, or the weirdo, or the jock. In adulthood that transforms into what we do to pay the bills. Often times that is falsely interpreted as who we are. We forget that the world and the times are ever changing and so are the people that inhabit it.

    ~Sarah

    Reply

  2. You’ve managed to say something poetically, succintly, thought-provoking – and very, very wise.

    Thank you for this insight. It’s something that is going to stay with me I think. A thought to carry with me as I “become.”

    Reply

  3. Posted by Captain caveman on April 24th 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Also… I am not any more what I will be yesterday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

